## History of the SSSSA

The *Soil Science Society of South Africa* was founded on the 27<sup>th</sup> of April 1953 in Pretoria. The founder members were: Dr C R van der Merwe, Prof. JJ Theron, Prof. ER Orchard, Prof. WJ Lütjharms, Dr J van Garderen, Dr CP Naudé, Miss I Sichel, Mr AV Betts, Mr P v.d M Bruwer, Mr GM Ferreira, Mr PA Louw, Mr H Klintworth, Mr G Murray, Mr MS Steyn, Mr FJ Rosenstrauch and Mr DJR van Dyk.

Miss Sichel, who passed away in Pretoria in 2002, was the last surviving SSSSA founder member.

Dr van der Merwe was elected as the first President of the Society. The full list of SSSSA *Presidents* is:

| 1953-58 | Dr CR van der Merwe   | 1958-63   | Prof. JJ Theron      |
|---------|-----------------------|-----------|----------------------|
| 1963-65 | Prof. W J Fölscher    | 1965-70   | Dr J van Garderen    |
| 1970-73 | Prof. ER Orchard      | 1973-75   | Prof. AA Theron      |
| 1975-78 | Dr MCF du Plessis     | 1978-81   | Prof. JM de Villiers |
| 1981-83 | Prof. R du T Burger   | 1983-84   | Dr CN MacVicar       |
| 1984-86 | Prof. RO Barnard      | 1986-87   | Prof. ATP Bennie     |
| 1987-89 | Prof. MC Laker        | 1989-90   | Dr DM Scotney        |
| 1990-92 | Mr JJN Lambrechts     | 1992-94   | Dr AJ van der Merwe  |
| 1994-96 | Mr HM du Plessis      | 1996-98   | Prof. JH Moolman     |
| 1998-99 | Prof. CC du Preez     | 1999-2001 | Dr JJ Bornman        |
| 2001-03 | Prof. L van Huyssteen | 2003-05   | Dr JF Eloff          |
| 2005-07 | Mr DG Paterson        | 2007-09   | Dr JE Hoffman        |
| 2009-11 | Dr CW van Huyssteen   | 2011-13   | Dr DP Turner         |
| 2013-15 | Dr PAL le Roux        | 2015-17   | Dr R van Antwerpen   |
| 2017-19 | Dr JJ Botha           | 2019-21   | Mr M du Plessis      |
| 2021-23 | Prof JJO Odhiambo     | 2023-25   | Prof J van Tol       |
|         |                       |           |                      |

The *Secretaries* of the SSSSA have been:

| 1953-54   | Mr FJ Rosenstrauch | 1955-66 | Mr G Murray        |
|-----------|--------------------|---------|--------------------|
| 1967-73   | Mr J van Woerkom   | 1974-75 | Mr JJN Lambrechts  |
| 1975-77   | Dr PF Fuls         | 1978-79 | Dr E Verster       |
| 1979-81   | Prof. RO Barnard   | 1981-82 | Dr RW Fitzpatrick  |
| 1983-2015 | Mr TE Dohse        | 2015-22 | Mrs M van der Walt |
| 2022-23   | Ms N Nortje        | 2023-24 | Mrs JA Baatjies    |

The *Congresses* that have been hosted (or co-hosted) by the SSSSA have been:

| 1st Congress:              | July 1965      | Pretoria  |
|----------------------------|----------------|---|
| 2nd Congress:              | ,<br>July 1967 | Pietermaritzburg  |
| 3rd Congress:              | April 1970     | Bloemfontein  |
| 4th Congress:              | April 1971     | Stellenbosch  |
| 5th Congress:              | February 1973  | Salisbury (now Harare)  |
| 6th Congress:              | July 1975      | Blyde River   |
| 7th Congress:              | January 1977   | Pretoria  |
| 8th Congress:              | July 1978      | Pietermaritzburg (Silver Jubilee Congress)                          |
| 9th Congress:              | January 1980   | Durban  |
| 10th Congress:             | July 1981      | East London   |
| 11th Congress:             | January 1983   | Stellenbosch  |
| 12th Congress:             | July 1984      | Bloemfontein  |
| 13th Congress:             | January 1986   | Pretoria  |
| 14th Congress:             | July 1987      | Nelspruit   |
| 15th Congress:             | January 1989   | Wild Coast  |
| 16th Congress:             | July 1990      | Pretoria (25 <sup>th</sup> Anniversary of 1 <sup>st</sup> Congress) |
| 17th Congress:             | January 1992   | Stellenbosch  |
| 18th Congress:             | January 1994   | Potchefstroom   |
| 19th Congress:             | January 1995   | Stellenbosch  |
| 20th Congress:             | July 1996      | Bloemfontein  |
| 21st Congress:             | January 1998   | Drakensberg   |
| 22nd Congress:             | June 1999      | Pretoria, Gauteng   |
| 23rd Congress:             | January 2001   | Pretoria, Gauteng   |
| 24th Congress:             | January 2003   | Stellenbosch (Golden Jubilee Congress)                              |
| 25th Congress              | January 2005   | Potchefstroom   |
| 26th Congress              | January 2006   | Durban, KwaZulu Natal   |
| 27th Congress              | January 2007   | Badplaas, Mpumalanga  |
| 28th Congress              | January 2008   | Grahamstown, Eastern Cape   |
| 29th Congress              | January 2009   | Stellenbosch, Western Cape  |
| 30 <sup>th</sup> Congress: | January 2010   | Bloemfontein, North West  |
| 31 <sup>st</sup> Congress: | January 2011   | Pretoria, Gauteng   |
| 32 <sup>nd</sup> Congress: | January 2012   | Potchefstroom, North West   |
| 33 <sup>rd</sup> Congress: | January 2013   | University of KZN, Durban, KwaZulu Natal                            |
| 34 <sup>th</sup> Congress: | January 2014   | Grahamstown, Eastern Cape   |
| 35 <sup>th</sup> Congress: | January 2015   | Tramanto Resort, George, Western Cape                               |
| 36 <sup>th</sup> Congress: | January 2016   | Bloemfontein, Free State  |
| 37 <sup>th</sup> Congress: | January 2017   | Klein-Kariba, Bela-Bela, Limpopo                                    |
| 38 <sup>th</sup> Congress: | January 2018   | Cape Town, Western Cape   |
| 39 <sup>th</sup> Congress: | January 2019   | Bloemfontein, Free State  |
| 40 <sup>th</sup> Congress: | January 2020   | Bloemfontein, Free State  |
|                            |                |   |

| 41 <sup>st</sup> Congress: | January 2022 | Online   |
|----------------------------|--------------|--|
| 42 <sup>nd</sup> Congress: | January 2023 | Pretoria (70 <sup>th</sup> Anniversary), Gauteng |
| 43 <sup>rd</sup> Congress: | January 2024 | Wilderness, Western Cape                         |
| 44 <sup>th</sup> Congress: | January 2025 | The Ranch, Polokwane, Limpopo                    |

The SSSSA has a number of *Honorary Members*. These are limited to fifteen and are:

Prof. HJ von M Harmse, Mr JJN Lambrechts, Dr CN MacVicar, Dr DM Scotney, Prof. H v H van der Watt, Dr M Hensley, Dr ADP Botha, Prof MC Laker, Dr H Venter, Prof RO Barnard, Dr RW Fitzpatrick, Dr P Grant and Mr TE Dohse.

Dr MCF du Plessis, Prof. WJ Fölscher, Dr JG Thompson, Prof. JM de Villiers, Dr RF Loxton, Prof. AA Theron and Prof. ER Orchard (all now deceased) were also honorary members.